Board of Directors

The NVMC Board of Directors is comprised of representatives from a range of Nisei veterans organizations, including the 442nd Veterans Club, 100th Infantry Veterans, and Military Intelligence Service; and related organizations including the Maui AJA Veterans Club, West Maui AJA Veterans Club, and Maui's Sons and Daughters of Nisei Veterans, as well as at-large directors from the community.

The Center Board serving the 2015-2016 term includes:

Brian Moto

Brian Moto, president
Special Assistant to the
Chancellor at UH Maui College

Scott Sakakihara

Scott Sakakihara
Vice president and Senior Business Banking Manager for the neighbor islands at Central Pacific Bank

Beryl Bal

Beryl Bal, Secretary
Community volunteer

Paul Mizoguchi

Paul Mizoguchi, treasurer
Co-owner, Maui Varieties, Ltd./House Mart

Glenn Goya
enior Vice President
Morgan Stanley Dean Witter

Hideo Kawahara
A&B Properties

Nelson Okumura

Nelson Okumura
President of VIP Foodservice


Saedene Ota

Saedene Ota
Owner of Sae Design and Maui Thing

Yuki Lei

Yuki Lei Sugimura
County of Maui, County Councilmember

Dr. Peter Galpin, M.D.
Plastic Surgeon, Maui Plastic Surgery

Grant Nakama

Grant Nakama
Project Manager, Maui Land & Pineapple Company

Rene Yamafuji

Rene Yamafuji
Retired Principal, Pomaikai Elementary School

Kyoko Kimura

Kyoko Kimura
Director of Owner Relations,

Peter Hanano

Peter Hanano
Deputy Prosecuting Attorney
County of Maui

Hiroshi Arisumi

Hiroshi Arisumi, president emeritus
Retired, Cofounder and Chairman of the Board
Arisumi Brothers, Inc.

Leonard Oka

Leonard Oka, director emeritus
Insurance Agent with Mutual Underwriters